What is a Lesson?

Lessons are individual appointments between students and tutors. They can only be created if a job has first been made. Lessons have a time, duration and location, all of which can be set by an administrator or by a tutor.

How to Add a Lesson

Lessons are individual appointments between students and tutors. They can only be created if a job has first been made. Lessons have a time, duration and location, all of which can be set by an administrator or by a tutor.

Step by step process:

  1. Navigate to the Jobs tab, select a job and click on the plus icon in the Lessons panel.
  2. Fill in the details regarding the lesson. A lesson scheduled in the past will automatically be marked as 'Complete', while a lesson schedule for the future will be marked as 'Planned'. If you select a location, TutorCruncher checks whether the lesson conflicts with another lesson at that location.
  3. Select which students and tutors to add onto the lesson. The students and tutors must have been added to the job to appear on this page. If the lesson time is not within the tutor's availability or conflicts with another lesson the tutor is on, TutorCruncher will give you a warning.
  4. Save the lesson. If the lesson was marked as 'Complete', you will be prompted to submit a report for the lesson.

More information:

Click here for more information on Lessons.
How to add a job. Click here for more information on Lessons.
How to add a job.

How do I edit a lesson?

You can edit a lesson by going to a lesson's details page and clicking the 'Edit' button. Lessons can be edited until they appear on an invoice. Once invoiced, you can only edit a lesson if you void the corresponding invoice by issuing a credit note. Bear in mind that you may not be able to edit this lesson. See here for reasons a lesson may not be editable.

How do I delete a lesson?

You can delete a lesson by going to the lesson's page and clicking Delete. Bear in mind that you may not be able to edit this lesson. See here for reasons a lesson may not be editable.

Is there a way I can view all of the deleted lessons in my branch?

Yes, you can view all the deleted lessons in your branch no problem by going to your branch's rubbish bin. Navigate to System > Rubbish Bin > Deleted Lessons, and select the tab for ‘Deleted Lessons’. You can filter by the job, as well as the title of the lesson.

How do I recover a deleted lesson?

Administrators can recover deleted lessons by navigating to System > Rubbish Bin > Deleted Lessons. Find the lesson you wish to restore, then click 'Recover'. If the job associated with the lesson is also deleted, then the lesson will not be recovered.

How do I add students to a lesson?

When you first create a lesson, you can add students who are on the job onto the lesson. After the lesson has been created, you can also add students who are not in the lesson. Go to the lesson's details page and click the plus icon on the 'Students' panel. Find the student you would like to add to the lesson and click 'Save'. If the student is not on the job, there will be an option to add them to the job.

How do I add tutors to a lesson?

When you first create a lesson, you can add tutors who are on the job onto the lesson. Tutors must be on the job to be added to the lesson. To add more tutors to the lesson, go to the lesson's details page and click the plus icon on the 'Tutors' panel. Then select the tutor and click 'Save'. If the lesson time is not within the tutor's availability or conflicts with another lesson the tutor is on, TutorCruncher will give you a warning.

Why can't I add/edit a lesson?

There are a couple of reasons for this:

  • The lesson is on a sent or paid invoice or payment order. You can check this by going to the lesson, and looking for the Payment Order or Invoice section on that page. If it isn't there then you don't have to worry, but if there are Invoices or Payment Orders listed, and then are either Sent, Paid or Pending, then the invoice or payment order has to marked as void to edit these lessons.
  • The job is marked as Finished. The job has to have any status other than Finished to edit lessons. You can change this by going to the job and editing the status to something other than 'Finished'.
  • You don't have the correct permissions If a tutor cannot make an edit or add a lesson this may be due to them not having the correct permissions. To check a tutor's permissions in System > Settings > Tutor Permissions under 'Default Job Tutor Permissions'. These setting can also be changed on a job by job basis. You can go to Activity > Jobs click on the job you want to edit, select 'Edit' and check if the permissions are correctly set up within More Settings > Default Tutor Permissions.
  • The job has a lesson cap TutorCruncher allows you to cap the number of lessons which can be included in a job. If you are trying to add new lessons to a job where the lesson cap has already been reached, you will not be able to do so. To check if this is the case go to Activity > Jobs click on the job you want to edit, select 'Edit' and check if a cap has been selected within More Settings > Cap.

How do I make a student/tutor required in a lesson?

When you first create a job, you have the option of making either a student or a tutor required for each lesson. To do this, go to the jobs details page and click 'Edit'. Then under the 'More Settings' tab, you have the option to make either a student or a tutor required on each lesson. Once those boxes are checked click save at the bottom of the form.

How do I add a student to all future planned lessons?

When a series of planned lessons are created in a job, you can automatically add students to all of those lessons. Go to the jobs details page and click the plus icon on the 'Students' panel. Choose a students name and enable the box marked 'Add to all future planned Lessons', then click save. The student will then be added to all future planned lessons in that job.

Did this answer your question?