Skip to main content

Tutor Permissions on Jobs

Find out what Permissions Tutors can have on Jobs.

Written by Maahi Islam

You can give your Tutors the following permissions on a Job:

  • Tutor can add and edit Lessons, and change the Job status to finished: If you give your Tutor these permissions, they will be able to schedule their own Lessons, edit them, complete them, and mark the Job as finished when the Job is done.

  • Tutor can add and edit Lessons: If you give your Tutor these permissions, they will be able to schedule their own Lessons, edit them, and mark them as complete. However, they won't be able to change the Job status.

  • Tutor can edit Lessons: If you give your Tutor this permission, they will be able to edit the Lessons and mark them as complete. However, they won't be able to add new Lessons or change the Job status to ‘finished’.

  • Tutor can only mark Lessons Complete: If you choose this permission for your Tutor, they can only mark the Lessons as complete, and won't be able to add/edit Lessons or mark the Job as finished.

Setting the default permissions for a Job

Every Tutor added to a Job starts on that Job’s default. You can set it via Activity > Jobs > select the Job > Actions > Edit, then choosing an option from the ‘Default Tutor Permissions’ field under the ‘More Settings’ tab.

The 'Default Tutor Permissions' field within a Job's settings.

Note: You can also set a default that applies to every newly-created Job via the ‘Default Job Tutor Permissions’ dropdown under System > Settings > People and Activity > Activity. Read more here.

Setting permissions for an individual Tutor

You can assign different permissions to Tutors on the same Job. Go to Activity > Jobs > select the Job, select the three dots icon next to the Tutor’s name in the ‘Tutors’ panel, then choose Edit. This opens the ‘Tutors’ panel, which contains a required ‘Tutor Permissions’ dropdown holding the permissions that particular Tutor has on that Job.

Information available to Tutors on Jobs

By default, a Tutor can only see the name of the Student they are on a Job with. You can let them see more information by navigating to System > Settings > People and Activity > People and enabling the ‘Tutors can view Student/Client details’ checkbox. With this enabled, your Tutors will also be able to see the Student’s basic information, including their home and email address.

You can also allow your Tutors to view a Client’s balance on a Job - navigate to System > Settings > Accounting > Client Balances and enable the ‘Tutors view Client balances’ checkbox. Once that’s done, your Tutor will be able to view a Client’s balance if they are assigned to the same Job/Lesson.


Did this answer your question?